Bad Reviews : The inevitable Hurt That I Have Learned to Live With

There are some things you have to get over or live with even though it hurts and you’d rather not.

I get that feeling when I see bad reviews on my books.

When you are pregnant with a child, it is an amazing thing. You want to do whatever you can to nourish the baby inside of you and make sure that when it enters the world it is healthy. You do whatever you need to produce a healthy beautiful baby.

I have three children so I know that when you write a novel you get the same feeling. When people come up to you (or write a review) saying that your baby is beautiful and you should be a proud mom. It makes me happy and full of grand emotions.

I remember when I received my first review on Amazon for my very first novel Prohibited.

It was a 3 star review.

I cried.

No seriously. I cried. I couldn’t believe someone thought my story; my baby I worked so hard on was mediocre.

It’s my first novel. I told myself. You can’t expect your first novel to be any good.

It turns out that quite a few people liked it. I was proud but I was determined to make the sequel just as good. I know it took me awhile, but I wanted to make sure that it would live up to the first.

I was proud when I saw my first few reviews. I was happy that I could do the series justice and not make readers wait in vein.

It took me a lot of writing and learning and critiques to help my writing grow.

So I was a little heartbroken when I saw my first bad review for Prohibited 2.

But I worked so hard on it. I spent so much time away from my family to finish it and you don’t like it?

Oh, the agony.

Getting a bad review on a novel is like someone calling your baby ugly and stupid. It makes you angry and upset and for a second you forget all about the other compliments and good reviews you received. You obsess over that one negative comment and it almost makes you want to give up and just forget about this writing thing.

Then you realize you write because you love to write. You write because there is someone out there that wants to hear your story. You realize that you are not perfect and therefore you are not going to please everyone.

My daughter asked me, “Can’t you just delete off the bad reviews?”

I shook my head.

“Why would I want to do that?” I asked her. “Someone took the time to tell me what the thought of my novel.  Whether it is good or bad, I welcome it.”

Reality is, some of the greatest novels or stories that I have read had reviews that said it sucked and lacked creativity. So as a writer, It may make me a little hurt when I see someone tell me they thought my baby was terrible, I can live with it. I can’t make everyone happy.

I’m not perfect and I for damn sure am not a perfect writer.

I can live with that.

4 thoughts on “Bad Reviews : The inevitable Hurt That I Have Learned to Live With

  1. Remember, everyone is entitled to their opinion and sometimes people just like to be negative about everything. It’s a great story, and no matter what other people thing be proud of your huge accomplishment. 🙂

  2. Proud of you for not focusing on the negative. That’s what we tend to do most of the time — worry about the 2 or 3 in an audience of 100 who had a negative reaction and forget about the 97 who were positive. Take care and keep doing what you love. xoA

  3. You have to have a really thick skin to be a published writer. You’ll never please everyone, but it’s the mean, spiteful, baseless reviews that anger and hurt the most. For the record, I loved Prohibited 😉

Leave a Reply

