X is for Xerses

X is for Xerses

The other day I watched a documentary about Xerses I, who was a Persian Emperor and portrayed in one of my favorite movies 300.

Watching the documentary it reminded me of my love of history and cultural mythologies. I am enthralled with Roman, Hindu, Greek and Egyptian mythologies and Stories from the Bible. My obsession is definitely for Greek mythology and Biblical stories. I am a huge fan of Greek mythology and actual Greek heroes in wars. I am also obsessed with biblical characters.300-Movie-Iphone-Wallpaper

Besides my favorite movie 300, I love Troy, The Odyssey, Medusa, Hercules (with Dwayne Johnson of course), The Passion of the Christ, the 10 Commandments and the second installment of the 300 movie for train the naval battle at the Straits of Artemisium.300-rise-of-an-empire-poster

I love everything related to Greek mythology, oracles, gods, goddesses, demigods, the legends and tales. I am like a Homer fanatic. I have loved this mythology for a very long time ever since I can remember. It was not something I was completely taught in school may be the history of the battles but it wasn’t until college that I was able to take a classical mythology class.

192167 1366958597_0frontSo I am a mythological and biblical geek. Every day I search the history Channel, Netflix, H2, the Discovery Channel for stories about great mythology and stories from the Bible. I drive my family crazy because they see these things as boring and the-odyssey-273703lthey don’t see them as interesting as I do.

Now and then there may be a story that my family will like to watch with me. When I watched the entire The Bible series they watched it with me. My husband also is a Greek Myth Movie fanatic. He was there at the movies with me to see 300 and Troy. Now I may not be able to get him to go to the movies with me to see the Exodus but knowing that Christian Bale is in it might be able to push him in that direction. I mean batman is playing Moses.exodus_gods_and_kings_postethJBYQ70OT

So watching the documentary about Xerses I made me want to crack out all of my Classical mythology books and watch all of my Greek gods and biblical stories that I have recorded on my DVR. If you are Greek mythology and biblical geek we could be the best of friends.

2 thoughts on “X is for Xerses

Leave a Reply

