V is for Vision

I know you may think that I am going to be all extra deep and personal talking about my vision for my life or my vision for my world.

Sorry…No.

I am literally talking about vision. I am extremely blind and so nearsighted I can only see 8 inches in front of my face with my glasses.

I really hate them sometimes.

I hate it when it exposes my absentmindedness and I spend 20 minutes looking for my glasses only to find that they were on my face the entire time.

nerd1I hate it when I sit them down but can’t find them when I’m alone because I can’t see.

I hate that I have to go through insurance or spend money I don’t have to wear sunglasses.

I hate that they dictate my hair styles. Some hairstyles just don’t feel or look good with my glasses.

So I’ve been contemplating getting Lasik eye surgery. It would be nicer to not have to wear glasses. Yet, I I am terrified of the fact that you have to stay awake the entire time during the procedure. That brings up another issue.

I suffer from a phobia called Ommetaphobia. I have a fear of touching my eyes  or eyeballs and I also have a fear of other nerdy_apple_cartoon_art_sculpture_girl_photosculpture-p153200116461214034env3d_328people touching their eyeballs or eyes. That is why I don’t wear contacts. When I go to the eye doctor my anxiety goes through the roof.

One time my eye doctor had to lie to me. She double numbed my eye and then lied to me and told me that she was nowhere near my eye she was not touching my eye. After the procedure, she then confessed she was touching my eye to check my eye pressure but that my husband told her about my phobia so she lied to me to make me feel better.

After thinking about all this, It’s starting to make me feel creeped out. The thought of a laser on my eyeball is making me sick to my stomach.

I’m just going to stick with my glasses.

One thought on “V is for Vision

  1. I don’t think I’m through the roof on this, but I don’t like that eye-ball touching thing, either. Just got so that I could put artificial tears in — and i don’t do that every day. Creepy. Thanks, xoA

Leave a Reply

