S is for Success

It took a long time. A month to be exact. There was so much hard work. 50,000 words put in order to create character voices, a story, a world, a beginning, a middle and an end.

I encountered many obstacles. Including:

1.) My laptop decided not to charge.

2.) My headset to my Dragon software broke.

3.) Thanksgiving preparations were underway.

4.) The kids were home for a week.

5.) I had writers block for a week.success2

6.) I restarted the story about four times.

Despite all these obstacles and many more I received support from my kids, my husband and so many people who wished me luck. After long nights and early morning writing sessions with just me and my cats, I was able to do something I never thought possible.

My husband knew for a long time that I was capable. He often told me, “You can write a novel in three months.”

I would laugh and laugh and laugh and then roll my eyes at him.

What was he thinking? It always took be at least eight months to a year to complete a novel. How was I supposed to do that in three months?

Now, I have officially completed a novel in one month. I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t be prouder of myself. I reached for the stars and I was successful in doing a remarkable thing.

Success is what I thought when I received my “you’re a winner” certificate.

Then I realized, my husband now expects me to do this all the time and I now also have to edit all of this. Yet, now that I know I can do it… I’ll see you next time NaNoWriMo.

success1

Leave a Reply

