M is for Music

“Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.”        ~Plato

music-thinking

When I wrote the novel Prohibited, in my head, I would hear a song playing. Whatever the scene or whoever the person that I’m writing about there would be a song playing in my head describing how they felt.  The songs would always give me insight into how they would feel in a certain situation or why they would respond to another person in another way.

It may sound crazy but almost all of my characters have a theme song.  Moreover, not just my characters. There are times when I feel a certain way or I need something to help me get in the mood to write, I will find that one particular song that puts me in the zone. The song will bring the muses out and flow through my blue ballpoint pen.cus231musicvoiceofsoul

One of the songs that I listen to a lot when I’m focusing on my character Michael Sr.,  from my novels Prohibited and Prohibited II : Illicit affairs,  is a song written by John legend called “All of me”.

What would I do without your smart mouth drawing me in and you kicking me out . You got my head spinning no kidding I can’t pin you down. What’s going on in that beautiful mind. I’m on your magical mystery ride and I am so dizzy don’t know what hit me but I’ll be alright.

I love the song and whenever I hear it, I think about Michael and his feelings for his love interest Maxine. I feel his pain when I listen to the song.

Music is big for me and I have to hear songs to help me write and sometimes to help me to understand my characters better. I cry with my characters. I feel what they feel.  I see what they see and music helps me to feel how they feel.

Leave a Reply

