F is for Fall

*Fictional story based on some real life events. It was a story I wrote about FALL

 

Falling Away From The Past.

With my mind made up, I loaded my bags into the trunk of my car slamming it shut after I tossed in the last bag. Times have changed and I am no longer the person I used to be. The town I used to call home doesn’t have what I need. I’m not sure if it ever did. It’s time that I move and find who I truly am.

images (4)Summer is gone and so too has my connection to this place. The old house where I laid my head for 18 years is empty and cold now. No longer filled with the laughter of children or the smell of amazing home cooked meals.

It was time to leave.

I climbed in the driver side of my old rusted red Toyota Celica and pulled away. I wanted to look back. I fought the urge. There was no reason to stay in the past.

I drove down interstate 65 North with the windows down. My hair blew like a tornado all around me but I didn’t care. It felt great to feel the cool autumn breeze caressing my skin, blowing through my hair and soothing my pain the blistering sun from the summer.

The sweet smell of apples from the orchard I passed by floated through my window and my mind drifted back to the warm apple pie I would devour every Thanksgiving in that house.  I shook my head trying to throw away the memory.

My eyes focused on the beautiful trees changing from green into red, brown yellow and images (5)orange hues. Falling leaves ready to fall to the ground and entertain those children ready to jump onto the pile.  I could almost hear their little feet crunching on the leaves as they played.

I reached down and grabbed my drink from the cup holder.

Pumpkin latte…my favorite.

I take a sip of the warm spicy drink and say to myself.

“Goodbye home…welcome Fall.

3 thoughts on “F is for Fall

  1. There’s something poignant about the idea of leaving a childhood home just as Fall arrives. Fall is the start of the holiday season and all of the traditional family holidays. Nice snapshot moment.

Leave a Reply

