E is for Eating

So if you have not noticed I love to eat. I love delicious food and I love trying new foods. My husband is more into “Eating to live” I on the other hand live to eat.

111
Vanilla, Strawberry and Chocolate Waffles. All from scratch.

I watch the food network channel and try to make all the dishes I see. I love to bake. I spend my time trying to make my own recipes. I make an incredible banana pudding cupcakes or Boston cream pie cupcakes.

I make pancakes from scratch. My favorite is chocolate chocolate chip. So delicious.

When I was younger, my parents never showed us how to eat in a healthy way. Yes, we had veggies and salads when we could, but when you have 9 kids and not a lot of money, you didn’t have the money to eat organic or have all fresh fruits and veggies. We bought what we could and ate what we could.

I was born with a massive sweet tooth. I worshiped everything sweet. It has always been my vice. Cookies, donuts, cakes and pies…I had to have them. When I was 23 years old,  I was told that I needed to cut back on sweet. My triglycerides were higher than normal. I tried but eventually I was back eating fast food, candy bars and cookies.

Banana pudding cupcakes

I was young then. I didn’t need to worry about that, I thought. Now…I’m 30 and the issue has come up again. This time, however, it is more of a problem. If I don’t get my diet in check I could be setting myself up for failure.

I realize now that I have to get my eating in check so that my kids won’t pick up my bad habits. If I buy bad food they will eat bad food. So lately instead of sweets I buy fruits and raw veggies. I’m lucky that my kids eat a variety of fruits and veggies and they even put in requests.

my pics from phone 1874
Cherry Cordial cupcakes

My doctor made me feel better by telling me that I can have sweets…in moderation. Everything in moderation. That’s good because I have a pack of Oreos in the pantry. I’ll only eat one. I promise.

 

5 thoughts on “E is for Eating

  1. I’m laughing as I read because I just stocked up on Oreos last night. (Lemon, Birthday Cake, and traditional fillings!) I put mine in the freezer because it helps deter me from eating more than ‘just one.’ But to be honest, I still do. 🙂 Great post!

  2. Man, can I eat at your house? Well, when you’re in a cupcake mood! That said, it’s good you’re revising your eating habits…good for you, good for your kids. I need to follow your example!

  3. My mother was born with an enormous sweet tooth (but she’s one of those women we all envy – never been remotely overweight). But her children, on the other hand, have struggled with weight (if I didn’t run I’d be triple my weight). But I’ve found two things that helped. One, surround yourself with semi-active people, that way becoming more active is natural not forced. Those people that walk their dogs for example. And two, get an app on your phone. My favorite is MyFitnessPal. I’ve neglected this app for the past few months – much to the chagrin of my scale.

    The best advice I ever received after having a child (I went from super fit/thin to overweight, soft and completely unmotivated) was to start slowly. Give yourself kudos every step of the way and be kind to yourself when you “slip up.”

  4. Good post, Donnee, and a struggle that many of us share. Now at 71 years of age, I am in better shape than in my 30s, 40s, and 50s. Thanks to Dr. Oz, Oprah, and a supportive and active partner. I’m eating healthier and am more active than ever.

    Good that you are making changes to show your children a better way. AND, to keep you here so you can watch them grow up and be a part of their adult lives.

    Thanks for the reminder! xoA

Leave a Reply

