Preserving the Innocence of Imagination

When I was a kid I had an incredible imagination. My Barbie dolls had real life stories. For example, I had a Barbie that was missing hair and a leg and my sis and I decided she had cancer and was on chemo.

One of my dolls we lost her head so we said her evil sister (another doll ) kidnapped and her baby. Our last doll had a car accident and had a miscarriage.

Yes, we had amazing imaginations and loads of fun playing with dolls.

As my sisters grew older they lost the memories of the fun we had playing make believe and believing in the tooth fairy, Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny.

When they had children they decided that they would tell their kids there was no tooth fairy, there was no Santa Claus, and the Easter Bunny was a phony.

When I tell them that I still tell my children that those mythical creature still exist they scold me saying,

“I don’t want my kids to think some fat man in a suit bought them all these gifts.” Or they believed that all those mythical holiday creatures are a part of some pagan ritual.

I don’t see it that way.

I hear what they are saying but I think we are going to have to agree to disagree. I want my children to hold onto the wonders of childhood for as long as they can.

I know eventually they will realize that mommy puts extra toys under the tree and say it is from Santa. They will eventually figure out that daddy drinks the milk and mommy eats the cookie (because mommy is lactose intolerant) and not Santa.

They will stop believing in the tooth fairy and understand mommy and daddy sneak into their room at night and slide a dollar under their pillow. (The cost of a tooth is now a dollar! Damn inflation!)

My oldest kid caught on about 3 years ago

“I know there is no Santa.” She said to me one Christmas Day.

“There is a Santa Claus! Why don’t you believe he exists?”

She smiled.

“Because, if he exists in than Santa bought the same type of wrapping paper that you did.”

Whoops!

I changed the wrapping paper after that or just didn’t wrap them at all.

I feel like believing in magic and fairytales only last for so long. Then life takes over and you grow up and all that magic is just sucked out of you.

They will grow up and they will stop believing.  Yet for now, I love to see my daughter face lights up Christmas morning when she sees the new bike Santa bought for her. It doesn’t matter that mommy stood in line for two hours at Wal-Mart during Black Friday to get it. 

“Santa thought I was a good girl mommy!”

Besides, I believed in Santa, Easter Bunny, the Tooth fairy and I think I turned out just fine with my wonderful imagination intact

When my 5 yr old started losing teeth she was so excited that the tooth fairy was coming to see her.

“I bet the tooth fairy is beautiful with amazing purple wings.”

“Yes, beautiful and nice.” So my two yr old who has been trying to lose her teeth every sense my 5 year lost hers and was rewarded by the Tooth Fairy with money.

I love seeing them use their imagination. And I hope they grow up to do something creative. Even if they don’t at least they can look back and know they had an amazing childhood where mommy let their minds wander as freely as they wanted to.

 

Leave a Reply

